img A beneficiary Agency of the Jewish Federation of Northern New Jersey

Halakha Department

The Halakha curriculum at Ma’ayanot has two primary goals. The first is to educate our students about practical halakha, so that they are knowledgeable about the laws that govern the lives of observant Jews. The second goal is to impart an understanding of the way that halakha develops from its Biblical source through the Gemara, Rishonim, and Acharonim. 

Halakha is included in the Talmud course in 9th grade and is required in grades 10 through 12. 

The four year curriculum:

Hilkhot Shabbat

Hilkhot Tefillah

Hilkhot Kashrut

Women in Jewish Law

In all Halakha classes, clearly organized sourcebooks that set out the halakha as it develops from the Torah through the Gemara, Rishonim, and Acharonim are utilized. In this way, our students develop halakhic knowledge as well as an understanding of the halakhic system. 

Tracking:  Halakha classes are tracked in 10th through 12th grades.